Oatmeal and a banana start my day

Although this week didn’t start off so well, I’m doing my best to end it better.

Yesterday I walked on my lunch, did 90 wall push-ups, and spent an hour in the evening exercising in front of the tv (walking, lifting weights and using the stair machine). I’m definitely starting to notice that I can spend more and more time on the stair machine so that’s exciting. I’m also starting to really like exercising in front of the TV. I can watch a movie/tv show that I normally watch but I’m getting my exercise in. I don’t know why I never did this before.

I also went to the grocery store last night and saw something new I had to try. Whole grain cheerios with peanut butter! I was pretty excited. They’re delicious if I do say so myself.

I weighed myself this morning about 209. That means I’ve lost a pound from yesterday!

My meals for the day:
Breakfast was oatmeal and a banana.
Lunch is a lean cuisine chicken parmesean, an apple and grapes.
Snack is a yoplait light yogurt
Dinner is tacos!

I’m on the hunt for a “before” photo of myself around the time I started weight watchers last May. I know I have one before that, that you can really tell but I guess I’ll have to look around.

In other news I tried a new recipe the other day. It’s a weight watchers one and it was amazing. So I’ll share it with you!

Orange-Chipotle BBQ Pork Chops with Grilled Onions
Prep time:  10 min
Cook time:  10 min
Serves: 4
PPV: 5

  • 3 spray(s) cooking spray, divided
  • 6 Tbsp barbecue sauce, Chipotle flavored
  • 2 Tbsp cilantro, fresh, chopped (plus more for garnish if desired)
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 2 Tbsp fresh orange juice
  • 1 pound(s) uncooked lean only pork loin, four 4 oz boneless chops, 3/4-inch-thick each
  • 1/2 medium uncooked vidalia onion(s), cut into four 1/4-inch-thick rounds

Instructions

Off heat, coat grill rack or a large grill pan with cooking spray; heat grill or set pan over medium heat. I wasn’t able to grill so, I baked them in the oven.

In a medium bowl, combine barbecue sauce, cilantro and orange zest. Remove 2 tablespoons of sauce to a small bowl and stir in orange juice; set aside. Add chops to medium bowl; toss to coat with sauce.

Coat onions with cooking spray. Add onions and pork to grill or grill pan. Grill over medium-high heat, turning once or as needed, until onions are lightly charred and tender and pork is just cooked through, about 8 to 10 minutes. I put my porkchops in the oven at 350 degrees covered in sauce. I put the onions into a pan on the stove with a little bit of olive oil to get my oil in for the day. Once the pork was almost done I put the onions in with the pork in the oven. I believe the pork took about 20 minutes.

Transfer pork to serving plates; separate onions into rings and scatter around pork. Drizzle each serving with 1/2 tablespoon of reserved barbecue sauce mixture; sprinkle with extra chopped cilantro. Yields 1 pork chop and 1/4 of onions per serving.

If anyone tries it, I’d LOVE to know what you think!

Leave a Reply

