A positive DR visit today…hard work is paying off!

So, I had a DR appointment today to check all of my blood levels and to find out a new DR recommendation as my DR is moving on to be the Director of Wellness at Christ Hospital here in Cincinnati. I am so excited for her. This is a perfect role for her and I wish her well.

Anyways, so I had fasting blood work done and here are my comparisons.

Total Cholesterol – normal levels are between 125 – 200
November: 194
January: 188 – A small improvement but, an improvement none the less.

HDL Cholesterol AKA The GOOD Cholesterol. A good level is higher than 46
November: 24
January: 35 – Another improvement. Still needs improving though. I’ll get there.

LDL Cholesterol AKA The BAD Cholesterol. A good level is under 130.
November: 116
January: 116

Triglycerides. This is the amount of molecules of fat in the blood. Eating too many fried foods and not enough exercise. Good levels are under 150.
November: 556. Clearly that’s not good. We were worried and I was put on medication and told to watch what I ate and exercise a lot more.
January: 185. ALMOST THERE! I’ve been working hard, exercising more and really watching what I eat.

Total Cholesterol to HDL Ratio:
November: 8.1
January 5.4 🙂 ANOTHER IMPROVEMENT!

And the one I HATE more than anything is my blood pressure.
November: 156/90
January 112/90 Still don’t like the bottom number but I do freak out, but it’s consistent so I just need to keep working and hopefully as more weight comes off that will continue to improve as well.

Weight loss, and exercise work. I’m living proof!!! I felt so good seeing these levels and the amount of improvement I have done since November.

It’s important to take control of your health. Get to know your Doctor. If you don’t like your Doctor, FIND ONE THAT YOU DO LIKE! My Doctor was a large part of my success. She was honest and straightforward but genuinely cared for my health. She was amazing.

My Doctor was so impressed that she asked me to look her up at her new job in 6 months so that I can maybe speak with some of her wellness groups. In her words “be the poster child for the programs!” I said yes, of course!

IN OTHER NEWS! That wedding I won is going to be AMAZING! We’re getting married this year! AHHHH! I’ve got to start saving for my dress and make a list of everything we need to take with us. They’re also going to be featuring us in a blog on their website!!!

Next week we will probably nail down the date. I’m going to work on creating a wedding website this weekend 🙂

I am having a GREAT week. I’m very excited to go to weight watchers in the morning and share my great health news! 🙂

I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend.

2 comments

  1. mcqty · January 22, 2012

    You should be so proudo f yourself !!! GREAT WORK. I am motivated by you, thanks for sharing your great news and I look forward to hearing more about your wedding plans. How exciting !!!

  2. jennybomb · January 23, 2012

    Aw, Thank you SO much! I’m trying hard. I feel pretty crappy about myself today though, but I’m going to make a post about it now.

Leave a Reply

